Bakin Bacon!

Bakin Bacon!

Well it’s a school day, no it’s a strike day, no it’s illegal, no it’s legal, no school…yes school…

ARGH…We all stayed home and are bakin bacon!

I grew up eating bacon (was it grass fed, grain fed…heck if I know!) All I knew was that when I ate bacon or pork of any kind I would get an upset stomach and if it wasn’t cooked beyond death I would be down right barfing my brains out thinking it was food poisoning. Now I know better.

A couple of years ago I signed up for a CSA Local Farm and when I was doing up my profile for them I checked off *NO PORK* Well I got a call from the farmer and we talked for a bit and he suggested that I just try their bacon. We are talking organic, grass fed, free range yada yada…so I said “OK fine!” Well the first thing I tried was their bacon (in the above picture) and OMG!!! Then I tried their other pork products and I was sold on the whole grass fed pork. I felt great after eating the pork.

Then once I was at Whole Foods and picked up some Organic, grass fed, free range pork sausages. I was cooking them in stew type dish and I served myself some and ate a few bites of the sausage and then I looked and realized the pork was not fully cooked through. I was so upset…I just KNEW in 6 hours on the dot I would be spending my night hanging out in the washroom with a barf bucket. I was really angry at myself for not checking. The next morning I woke up and realized that not only did I not wake up with pork poisoning…I had a really good sleep.

My family loves bacon so much we can’t keep it in the house. I love cooking with the bacon fat (like we did as kids) as everything tastes soooo good!

But if you are one of those people that thinks bacon and bacon fat is bad for you…please keep believing that and send up your grass fed bacon PLEASE!

Also if you are like me and not going to take some freaky deaky’s word for it…here are a couple of links to read and try for yourself. 🙂

Dr.Mercola
http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2013/01/03/eating-bacon.aspx

Mark Sisson of Primal Blueprint
http://www.marksdailyapple.com/monday-musings-new-grass-fed-study/#axzz2HgZnN52r

2 thoughts on “Bakin Bacon!

  1. Col Mitchell January 11, 2013 at 5:43 pm Reply

    Love the pic 🙂 So how come your bacon is nicely flat? Do you cook it a certain way?

  2. Shannon Stark January 11, 2013 at 9:06 pm Reply

    You bake it in the oven at 300 till it is at the level of crispness you like. After 30 min I check every 10 min. The grass fed bacon doesn’t shrink, but I find the store bought bacon does shrink a bit, but not as much as frying.

Leave a Reply

