Brainstorming with my sister

Brainstorming with my sister

I am sure I bored my sister to death yesterday talking about food….all day. But by last night I had her on track and we started talking perogies…I could hardly sleep last night waiting to try our idea. This morning I woke up and started peeling the yam and dicing it up and baking in the oven. Then I baked the bacon…then we put the cooked yams in the kitchen aid mixer and I chopped the bacon and she shredded the cheese. It all went in the mixer. Then I made the hand pie dough recipe and had NO IDEA if this was going to work at all or not. So we only made six in case it was a bust. Into the boiling water they went for roughly 40 seconds…and then out and drained and into the frying pan with the onion, bacon and butter…so far so good…then we did some food stylin to take some pictures and then we got out the fork for the REAL TEST. OMFG!!!! We both *GASPED* and had the chill up the spine feeling of “WOW NOT ONLY DID IT WORK….TASTES AWESOME!”

We had 3 each and honestly they are rich and filling and so we made up the rest and froze them….so I just have to pull them out, boil for a minute and fry up. Can’t wait to eat them again. One day I am going to have a perogie making day….Care to join me?

Dough
2 Tsp Whole Psyllium Husks
1/8 Tsp Xanthan
1/3 Cup of Warm Water.
1 3/4 Packed Cup of Blanched Almond Flour
1/2 Packed Cup Starch (Tapioca, Arrowroot or Potato)
3/4 Tsp Salt
1/2 Tsp Baking Soda
1 Tbs of additional water.
1. In a small cup or bowl combine the Psyllium, Xanthan and 1/3 Cup of Water. Mix and set aside for a few minutes so that it can thicken.
2. In the bowl of a food processor combine the Almond Flour, Starch, Salt and Baking Soda. Process to combine. Add the thickened Psyllium Mixture to the food processor. Turn on high and process- then add the last Tbs of water and combine until dough becomes a thick ball. It should be just slightly sticky and hold together really well. * If your dough is at all crumbly add a little bit more water ( 1 tsp at a time) until it starts to hold firmly together.*
3. Remove dough from food processor. Place between two sheets of parchment paper and roll out to desired thickness.

Filling
1 large sweet potatoe peeled, diced baked at 350 for 30 min
1/2 lb bacon, baked at 350 for 30 min
1 cup shredded cheese.

Mix filling ingredients together, cut out dough in circles and fill with less than a tsp of filling, fold over and pinch edges.

Boil for 40 seconds and fry in butter with onion and bacon and top with sour cream. Hope I am not missing any steps.

*another option* before boiling, lay out on cookie sheet and freeze and then put in freezer bag for future use.

YUMMERS!

3 thoughts on “Brainstorming with my sister

  1. Cyndi Brunnet January 16, 2013 at 2:08 pm Reply

    Sounds yummy! I am slovak, and in addition to potato perogies…grandma would make strawberry and peach ones and after boiling/frying she would then put them in the oven with butter and some type of cottage cheese or maybe ricotta?…but not sure what…it was sooo long ago and my grandparents and parents are deceased. We would have them every Xmas eve 🙂

  2. Pat January 19, 2013 at 11:16 pm Reply

    I grew up on pierogi and since going grain free, I figured pierogi would never be possible till someone on the Wheat Belly Facebook page told us about your recipe. Can’t wait to try it. Thanks!

    • Shannon Stark January 19, 2013 at 11:23 pm Reply

      Enjoy! There is a bit of the tapioca starch in the dough, and I used sweet potato which now that I lost the bulk of my weight I will enjoy once in a while. 🙂

Leave a Reply

