The Calzone Diet

Image

One of the Joys of the internet is the access to millions of wonderful ideas floating around.  When I saw this posted by http://www.mariahealth.blogspot.ca Resistance was Futile!  I mean like SERIOUS!?!?!  CALZONES!!!

Even though I am on this new quest to lose 10lbs nothing was going to stop me from trying this out last night.  So I followed the recipe and at the end where it said to add the 1 cup of boiled water I was thinking…”something is wrong here!?!”  I knew that if I added water to this dough I was going to get slop and I stood there for a moment processing what I knew.  Psyllium seed husk do gel up and there are 5 tbsp in there…so I closed my eyes and added the water…I started turning and so did my stomach with disappointment because I was looking at slop….but then it started…the psyllium seed husk started to work and sure enough I ended up with a  pizza like dough.  YAY.

Image

Topped this puppy with cheese, pepperoni, mushroom, bacon, and hot peppers.  I used the parchment to fold over and removed the top parchment and pinched the side together.  Then I cut the parchment around the calzone and transferred to a cookie sheet.  It said to cook for 45 to 55 min.  So I put it on for 55, but because I rolled it out a bit thinner it was ready at 45 min.  Store bought gluten free Marinara sauce and my family members gave two 9.9’s and one 9.  When I asked why not just give it a 10, my quite literal daughter said “Well you said a number BETWEEN 1 and 10.”  *sigh*  They asked it be made more often for supper !   Are you not just IN LOVE!?!

Image

CRUST:
1 1/4 cup blanched almond flour (or 1/2 cup coconut flour)

5 TBS psyllium husk powder (no substitutes)
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp Celtic sea salt
2 eggs (4 if using coconut flour)
1 cup BOILING water (or marinara sauce)

FILLING:
1 cup mozzerella cheese
Favorite Pizza Toppings: olives, artichokes, sausage, mushrooms, peppers, onions…

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. In a medium sized bowl, combine the almond, psyllium powder (no substitutes: flaxseed meal won’t work), baking powder and salt. Add in the eggs and combine until a thick dough. Add boiling water or salsa into the bowl. Mix until well combined.

Separate the dough into 2. Place the dough onto a piece of greased parchment paper (I used THIS coconut oil spray). Using a rolling pin, roll the dough out in a circle shape with even thickness throughout, about 1/4 inch thick. Place desired pizza fillings in the middle of each circle. Fold the circle in half and pinch the edges closed with your fingers. Place each calzone onto a cookie sheet about 3 inches apart from each other.  Bake for 45-55 minutes or until golden brown. Makes 6 servings.

Leave a Reply

