Kombucha

Now that I am brewing my 3rd batch of Kombucha I think I am ready to share my experience, as little as it is.

What is KOMBUCHA you ask!

First it seems every research I did had a disclaimer first…so I am going to do that here as well….

Disclaimer: Information is for educational purposes only. These statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. It is not medical advice, nor is it intended to replace the advice or attention of heath-care professionals.

With that out of the way…back to Kombucha
Here is the intro on the Kombucha Kamp site.

 

 

kombucha benefits, health benefits of kombucha, benefits of Kombucha, health benefits of kombucha tea, benefits of kombucha tea, kombucha cultures, how to brew kombucha tea, kombucha recipe, recipe for kombucha, kombucha health information, kombucha news, kombucha kamp, kombucha, make your own kombucha

The 3 Vinegar Tasters

 

Kombucha has been consumed for over 2000 years the world over. It has been extensively studied and applied for several medical uses in Russia, Germany, China and many other places.  It is naturally carbonated and is purported to have a host of healing properties that may include:

 

*Probiotics – healthy bacteria
*Alkalize the body – balances internal pH
*Detoxify the liver – happy liver = happy mood
*Increase metabolism – rev your internal engine
*Improve digestion – keep your system moving
*Rebuild connective tissue – helps with arthritis, gout, asthma, rheumatism
*Cancer prevention
*Alleviate constipation
*Boost energy – helps with chronic fatigue
*Reduce blood pressure
*Relieve headaches & migraines
*Reduce kidney stones
*High in antioxidants – destroy free-radicals that cause cancer
*High in polyphenols
*Improve eyesight
*Heal excema – can be applied topically to soften the skin
*Prevent artheriosclerosis
*Speed healing of ulcers – kills h.pylori on contact
*Help clear up candida & yeast infections
*Aid healthy cell regeneration
*Reduce gray hair
*Lower glucose levels – prevents spiking from eating

http://www.kombuchakamp.com

———-

Really in a sense it means once you give the gut what it needs (healthy bacteria) then it will look after the body.  80% of your immune system is in your gut so if your gut is not happy, your body is not happy.  I personally have tried other fermented foods and it just didn’t go well for me.  Kombucha was suggested to me and even though it seemed like a daunting task to make my own, it was actually quite easy.

 

First what you need is a SCOBY (Symbiotic Culture of Bacteria and Yeast)

WHAT!?!?!  Where the heck do I get that!?!?!  Well you have options, you can grow your own from a commercial brand of Kombucha, which I did for my first batch.  But I have heard that the SCOBY might break down after a few batches.  You can get a SCOBY from a friend who brews Kombucha.  For each brew you make a new SCOBY is born, so some people are giving these away.  You can also order online and this is what I ended up doing.  Since brewing I have now met more Kombucha brewers so if you are looking for a SCOBY, I will have some and friends of my from all over have them.

Second thing you will need is Start LIquid…again this was another aspect that made me feel frustrated…SCOBY?!?  STARTER LIQUID?!?!  But if you get a SCOBY from a friend it will come in the starter liquid, and also if you order one online.  If you make your own the liquid the SCOBY grew in is the Starter Liquid.  EASY?  🙂

Third you will need Organic Black or Green Tea.  I have been using the Organic Green Tea.  I have the black tea waiting for when the green run outs.

Fourth is Sugar.  I used Organic Cane Sugar for my first and second batch and my 3rd batch which is brewing right now I am trying the Turbinado Raw Sugar that I bought at the Whole Foods Headquarters in Austin Tx.  I hear you can use maple syrup as well!

So once you have your SCOBY, Starter liquid, Tea, Sugar you just need a gallon glass jar, a cloth and elastic.

Here are a few pictures

Image

At Day 6 of sitting in it’s corner I decided to taste it and so I slipped a straw pass the SCOBY to the bottom and took a sip. YUM!  it was ready to be bottled.  Here you can see the yeast strands….

Image

I grated a bit of ginger into each bottle and then filled them and capped them and put them on the counter for another few days to form the Carbonation.

Image

Every day we burped the bottle to that they wouldn’t explode (heard this can happen)

This was even better than the commercial brands I have tried.

Image

Here is our second batch, which we added different fruits into each.  This should be ready in a day or two.  I love my Kombucha and what it does for my body.  My daughter loves it just as much as I do so I have ordered an Continuous Brewer so we can have Kombucha ready everyday!

My next project….Fermented Ginger Beer!

Shannon

 

 

2 thoughts on “Kombucha

  1. Annette Drouillard April 9, 2013 at 10:28 pm Reply

    Shannon, would someone who is suffering from candida be made worse by drinking this??? And where did you get your cute little bottles???

  2. Shannon Stark April 22, 2013 at 3:21 pm Reply

    I think I answered this in FB…but yes google the benefits of Kombucha and you will see that it might actually help. These are two different types of Yeast. 🙂

Leave a Reply

