PALEO WAFFLES AND MAPLE BACON ICE CREAM

ImageMy daughters asked me if I could buy them some waffles since they hadn’t had them in 18 months and were missing them for a *fast pop in the toaster* kind of breakfast.  I just cringed as I have never made waffles before and not sure of the process.  So out I went and bought a cheap waffle iron and came home to see if pancake batter was the same as waffle batter.  I guess it isn’t really…and so I found one that was Paleo approved and decided to give it a try.

Waffle Batter
(makes roughly 14 waffles)

– 6 egg whites
– 6 egg yolks
– 1/2 cup coconut milk (or whole milk if you are doing dairy)

– 2 cups almond flour

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 2 tsp vanilla

– 2 tsp maple syrup

– 4 tbsp coconut oil

– fat of your choice (I use bacon fat)

In a bowl I mix the egg yolks, milk, flour, salt, vanilla, maple syrup and coconut oil.

In a mixer I beat the 6 egg whites till frothy and then fold in the egg yolk mixture until all blended.

Heat your waffle iron and drizzle the bacon fat and I put 1/3 cup of batter on each side and cook for 3 minutes.

You can eat right away…or…you can lay them out on a cookie sheet and freeze them and then once frozen put them in a freezer bag and then toast them when wanted.  We find that 1 waffle will usually fill the kids where the adults will usually eat two.  Because of the good fats in this a little will take you much further.

Image

If you have never had Maple Syrup boiled over a WOOD FIRE, lets just say you haven’t LIVED!  My girlfriend Jane (another Paleo mom) taps her trees in the spring and boils her syrup over a wood fire and then because she LOVES me so much she gives me some of her Liquid Gold.  I have tasted lots of syrup, store, from sugar shacks, local from far, but I have NEVER EVER tasted anything as awesome as hers.  Wonder if she will give me another jar for this plug??? 

Another thing I wanted to try was George Bryant’s (Civilized Caveman) Maple Bacon Ice Cream.  I have made ice cream with coconut milk before and I find it really hardens in the freezer and more like eating ice shavings (unless I am just doing it wrong)  but I always have success with Whipping Cream and Whole Milk.  So even though the Dairy is not Paleo, I am not a big ice cream eater but my family is and they are more on the Primal side of eating (including dairy)  So here is the recipe for the Ice cream.

Maple Bacon Ice Cream

– 4 strips of bacon
– 3/4 cup whole milk
– 2/3 cup maple syrup
– pinch salt
-1 1/2 cup heavy cream
– 1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla

lay bacon on a rack in the oven or on tin foil and bake at 350 for 35 minutes or until crisp

In a bowl mix all the other ingredients and put into your ice cream maker (I bought mine at Canadian Tire for $80.00) and just before it really starts to thicken add the bacon bits.

This morning I added a bit of the ice cream on top of the waffle and then added the smokey maple syrup and it was divine!

shannon xox

One thought on “PALEO WAFFLES AND MAPLE BACON ICE CREAM

  1. Annette Drouillard May 1, 2013 at 12:41 am Reply

    Hi Shannon!

    Stupid question for you. How do I print out your recipes?????

Leave a Reply

